A New Paradigm

I witnessed a conversation on Facebook the other day about adoption that got a little uncomfortable. It started when someone posted a link to a family that was fundraising to pay for the adoption of their next child. Most women were saying, “Thanks for letting me know! I’ll go check it out!” One woman, however, asked a very honest question: “Why should I pay for someone else’s child?” Most people were shocked, because they get it. Women tried to lovingly explain to “Confused” why it was appropriate to ask for help in adopting, but she was having none of it. To her, it was an issue of parents not planning well. With good planning, time, and patience, anyone would be able to pay for adoption, and that was that.

As I observed the conversation, I saw the real issue was one of paradigm. Confused still viewed adoption in the old paradigm. This is the school of thought that says adoption is what you do when you are unable to conceive. It says, “Our family isn’t complete because we have no children. We’ll adopt 2.5 kids, get the dog and the picket fence, and then we’ll have it all.” There’s certainly nothing wrong with this line of thinking; it makes sense for couples who can’t conceive to adopt the child another has conceived but can’t raise. However, there is a new paradigm of adoption thatย  brings with it a different motivation to adopt.

This new adoption paradigm (some are calling it an adoption revolution) doesn’t view adoption as primarily a way to fill a couple’s desire for children. Rather, it is a means to provide for and protect the estimated 137 million orphans in the world. Some of these orphans have lost both parents (or the only parent they’ve ever known) to disease, war, or some other tragedy. Some of them have living parents, but are orphans in the sense that the parents have turned them over to orphanages or agencies because they can no longer meet the needs of the child. In this country, most are “orphans” because their parents lost custody due to inability to care for them, or the parents relinquished their rights to the child at birth. No matter how they come to be known as orphans, they are children in need of someone to step up to the plate and say, “I will parent this child.”

This new paradigm has brought with it a new breed of adoptive parents. They are not people out to fulfill their needs, desires, or dreams. They are people who are out to fulfill the call of James 1:27, which says that pure religion (meaning your faith is unselfish,ย  and your life is offered as service to God) is to take care of orphans and widows. The families I personally know that are part of this adoption movement have willingly laid down the “American dream”ย  of having a big house with lots of extra room, fancy cars, and fancy vacations in order to bring some of these children into their homes. Their lives are busy, their houses are full, and their children are blossoming beyond belief! They have traded comfort and ease for smiling faces and full hearts.

To Confused, I would say, you are under no pressure to pay for someone else’s child. But if you stop to think about it, wouldn’t you like to help pay for Jesus’ child? For his children? Wouldn’t you like to join the behind-the-scenes army that, while not necessarily equipped to bring orphans into their own homes, have been equipped to help bring them into a permanent home, with a permanent family, where they will be raised with love and dignity, in the knowledge of the Lord? Because in reality, that’s the bottom line of what the adoption movement is all about.

For Confused, and anyone else that is now curious about what it looks like to be part of this “secret” army, I’ll write more on that in a couple days. For now, let the truth sink in that adoption isn’t always what it used to be. It’s about the children, not the parents. It’s about little beauties like this, that without parents willing to put aside their own comfort for her sake, would have begun her life in foster care, where it is unknown when or even if she would have found a permanent home. Selah…

35 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Angela
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 20:22:48

    Beautifully put!! Abba soften the hearts and give clear eyesight! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Twitted by KellyClinger
  3. Deanne Hamlette
    Sep 14, 2010 @ 15:27:36

    Beautiful and thanks for saying something that, I believe, many still don’t understand. May I have your permission to post this on our agency’s blog http://www.flsadoption.blogspot.com?

    Reply

  4. heatherbrandt
    Sep 17, 2010 @ 12:48:06

    I agree with what you said. When Jesus is taken out of the equation, I’ve noticed some people may see adoption as a way to meet an ends–to have children. Adoptive parents who are living in the trenches know that it is a ministry! Sometimes I feel sort of like a missionary b/c I am parenting my sweet broken child who spent the first 20 months of his life in an orphanage and it is challenging! BUT the blessing of loving him and watching him grow! It is a gift from God to parent through the miracle of adoption & I look forward to seeing how God leads us to our daughter & removes the obstacles still between us…to His glory!

    http://www.brandtadoption.wordpress.com & http://www.russianblessings.wordpress.com.

    Reply

    • Dorean Beattie
      Sep 17, 2010 @ 13:51:53

      Heather, I think you’re a missionary, too!

      I just zipped over to your blog. I love the heart and faith of your son. Your daughter is going to be blessed to have such an awesome big brother! I’ll be praying for your little girl to come home soon!

      Reply

  5. Jill
    Sep 17, 2010 @ 17:28:09

    You are an amazing inspiration and put it so very well. I can’t wait to read more from you! My heart is being called to adoption, but am still praying for the rest of my family to feel the same. God Bless your family!

    Reply

  6. Molly Parker
    Sep 17, 2010 @ 17:35:33

    I LOVE this. May I re-post this on my blog, please? I will clearly cite you as the author & put a link back to your blog. Thank you!

    Reply

    • Dorean Beattie
      Sep 17, 2010 @ 17:57:01

      Jill–I’m glad this post connected with you. I will be praying that your family catches the vision, as well! When it’s time for you to pursue adoption, I’d suggest you contact my friend Tracie Loux. You can read about her in the post “Even a Hero Needs Heroes”. She works for Christian Adoption Consultants, and can help you through the process. She’s actually the one that brought together the family in the photo above. (This is just part of the family. Dawn and her husband Jason have 8 adopted children. You can read their story on her blog, http://arethesekidsallyours.blogspot.com/ )

      Molly–Feel free to re-post. My heart is to see the Body of Christ catch the vision of rescuing orphans, so the more the merrier!

      Reply

  7. jennifer
    Sep 17, 2010 @ 19:42:11

    Wow! I love your heart for the orphan! I too, share God’s heart for the orphan, not just as an adoptive parent, but as a former orphan myself.

    I hope you don’t take offense to my words, but I only want to give you another perspective – as someone who shares your passion but “sees” things differently and doesn’t read criticism from “confused” but rather sincere questions that have a right to a gracious answer.

    First, “the adoption revolution” is actually not new. I think because of the new social networking medias and blogging it’s becoming more visible. As I said, I was adopted 40 years ago by a couple, who by the way did not struggle with infertility. Adoption was their FIRST (and only) choice and they adopted 7 children. I grew up with dozens of cousins adopted from all over the world – all by fertile parents. My husband and I chose adoption as our FIRST (and only) choice and have found many many couples of like mind who quietly adopt. Statistically, adoption trends are actually falling. Sadly, adoptions ending in disruption or disollution are increasing. In BC, where we now live, they have made a policy to not allow children over the age of 3 to be adopted into the province (with a few exceptions) because so many of these children were being placed into foster care by their adoptive parents. Sadly, adoptive parents that “should” be prepared are increasingly unprepared.

    As for fundraising for an adoption, I personally have struggled with this. My parents were missionaries when they adopted SEVEN kids. God always provided miraculously for each one. My husband is a faith-supported missionary as well for the past 18 years and we are in the process of our fifth adoption. None of our adoptions are fundraised for. God has always provided after we have prayed and we live debt-free. I am NOT saying it is wrong for others to fundraise. I’m just saying I understand “confused’s” perspective as well.

    I hope you don’t take offense to these comments. I merely want to point out that even those who are pro-adoption can have a different perspective. I love your heart! Bless you as you continue to share with us, Jennifer

    Reply

    • Joyanne
      Oct 14, 2010 @ 00:33:52

      Jennifer,

      Are you sure about this? Perhaps this is an “agency” policy, but I would not agree that it is a provincial policy. I live in BC as well, and have many friends living in BC that are in the process of beginning their adoption for children who are over the age of 3. In our small adoptive family playgroup there are three families who brought home children this past year who are over the age of three. You might want to have another conversation with your agency about this and ask specifically “who” is making this policy.

      “In BC, where we now live, they have made a policy to not allow children over the age of 3 to be adopted into the province (with a few exceptions) “

      Reply

  8. Dorean Beattie
    Sep 17, 2010 @ 20:30:03

    Jennifer–No offense taken! I agree with you; “Confused” was asking honest questions, seeing the issue from a different perspective. That was really what got me thinking about writing this. (And just to be clear, the original conversation never got ugly or ungodly; there was no name calling or accusations. It was just uncomfortable because sincere believers were not able to fully see what the other was saying.)

    I guess I take the stand on the issue of fund raising that God is providing for the adoptions, but not necessarily the same way for everyone. I don’t know why some have to fund raise and some don’t; I just know I’ve seen it happen both ways. As one not in the position to adopt, but still wanting to help orphans, I’m grateful God has allowed us to hear of families needing help.

    I really appreciate you sharing your family’s story/stories. There are, I’m sure, many people that would like to adopt but can’t imagine how they would ever get the money to do it. Your story is a great reminder that God can make it happen!

    Reply

  9. stacey
    Sep 18, 2010 @ 01:35:08

    very well spoken! I couldn’t have said it better! God’s people helping God’s people to fulfill their calling.

    Reply

  10. Stephanie
    Sep 18, 2010 @ 20:33:19

    I would like to respond on a different note. As a woman who is infertile and desperately desired children, we just didn’t have alot of “extra” money to bring children into our arms. ART (like invitro) is extremely expensive. Adoption is as well. Other families can bring children into their home without having lots of money on hand up front- we can’t. We will always have enough to provide for several children over time (food, education, clothes, activities), but we do not have extra funds lying around to bring children into our home. So we not only are going to fund a child his whole life we have to put a “down payment” of hundreds of thousands of dollars (average $50,000 per child-give or take) just to bring them into our home. It would take years and years to save this money for an upfront payment to build the family of many children that we desired. I would rather see that money going to bring up a child (clothes, food, education, a home etc.) not line the pockets of people who have to do all the middle work.

    God gave me the desire to raise children – which I absolutely embrace – yet lack alot of extra money. But there are others who are not wanting to raise children, but they may have the funds to. There are some who have both and some who have neither. As a society, we should help each other. When I am in my 60’s I might have money but little ability to raise another child. So why can’t I help others who can. There is a time and a season for each of us to fullfill our roles and callings in order to make the world a better place. If we see that we are here to help each other, than service and donations wouldn’t be a burden to anyone.

    I desire the opportunity to raise children. We have seen the miracles that brought two little boys into our home. We have been blessed. We are again at that point of wanting to bring in more children, but again we are stuck, do we deprive our current children to bring in more, or do we ask for help? We will be asking for help. It isn’t easy. We would love to be ‘fertile’ and bring in many souls into the world. The Lord has other souls who need what we can offer. We would love to be wealthy enough to bring in 10 children right now and give them all their hearts could wish for. But we aren’t. But we do have the love and security to offer little hearts in need. We have enough to provide for the neccessities of life. How can we refuse those to those who have even less. But we will need others to help us fund the paperwork and act of bringing them in. So we in humility ask for help, and then through faith, we see miracles. If we weren’t infertile and not rich we wouldn’t see the miracles and hand of God in our lives or our children’s.

    So for those out there, if you can spare the money and not the time, please help those of us who can spare the time and have no money. I don’t think it matters whether you are fertile, infertile, have no kids, or many kids: there are children out there with families and they need the good hearts to be giving financially so they can be placed in safe homes with a future.

    Reply

  11. Dorean Beattie
    Sep 18, 2010 @ 21:24:26

    Stephanie–Thank you for sharing your heart so openly. I really appreciate hearing another perspective on the subject. I will be praying for God to bring in the provision for your future children!

    Reply

  12. Jenn
    Sep 20, 2010 @ 18:56:54

    I have no problem with adoption and understand adoption. But I have a question that I cannot ask those in my family who are adopting because they are very sensitive about the issue.

    Like you they quote James 1:27…to take care of orphans and widows. Is there an emphasis on orphans but not such on widows even though it is right there in the same sentence.

    Reply

  13. Kim
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 16:49:18

    So VERY VERY true!
    Living in the new paradigm!!!
    Kim
    (Mommy to 11 treasures through adoption)

    Reply

  14. Julie
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 23:29:59

    I’m a fellow KC PAP, with a referral for two beautiful sisters from Ethiopia.
    These girls were in the waiting child program because the oldest has some medical issues, that we will endure for a lifetime.

    Not many people jump at the chance to parent a child with special needs, but this is what GOD has called us to do, therefore we must be obedient.

    I applaud your post, because often times what many people forget is that to start a family costs money, either with adoption or biologically.

    I don’t know of many families that have out right paid for the birth of their child directly.
    They either have insurance, and pay their pay a co-pay, or they get government assistance.

    AP’s get a tax break after the adoption is final but that’s the extent of it.

    I am pushing 40, we have two biological sons 15 and 20…….I could be looking at my “golden years” in a mere 36 months, living footloose and fancy free, however my husband and I decided that caring for orphans was much more rewarding than having a sports car, dream vacations, less house cleaning, laundry etc.

    Reply

  15. erica
    Sep 21, 2010 @ 23:40:38

    I love this. Love you. Love how you’ve put so beautifully the heart of God.

    Reply

  16. Dorean Beattie
    Sep 25, 2010 @ 13:44:26

    Julie–You’re a hero, to be sure! Adding to your family when, as you say, you’re almost footloose and fancy free is amazing! I’m guessing you feel, as a preacher we once heard put it, the spirit of “I Must”. He was speaking about when Jesus went missing from his family on a trip to Jerusalem and they found him in the temple. His answer as to what he was doing was “Didn’t you know I MUST be about my Father’s business?” It’s different than “I have to”, or “I should”, it’s I must. There’s no real question of obedience, it just has to be, in the same way the sun must come up every day. By the way, what’s a PAP? I’m guessing there’s “adoptive parent” in there somewhere, but I’m lost on the rest! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  17. Dorean Beattie
    Sep 25, 2010 @ 14:11:36

    Jenn–Good point! What is happening right now is the church is waking up to the reality of this verse, which it has ignored for too many years/decades/centuries/millenia! As far as I know, it is in fact mostly waking up to the issue of orphans WAY more than the widow. I can see a couple possible reasons for this. It might be that God is starting with the orphan issue because it’s easier for people to warm up to the idea of helping defenseless little kids. It’s also possible that people are only listening to the orphan part because, well, it’s easier for people to warm up to the idea of helping defenseless little kids!

    I foresee a time when the church will begin to move toward helping the widow, as well. Just as the adoption movement has required an altered understanding of the term “orphan” (not just no parents, but needing parents for a variety of reasons), we will have to come to understand “widow” not just as women whose husbands have died, but women whose husbands/live-in boyfriends/baby-daddies abandon them or are hauled off to jail, or women who have no family to stand with them.

    It may be that you are feeling this because you are called to be a forerunner in this area. Just as Stephanie mentioned in her comment, her parents understood the adoption issue 40 years ago, and the rest of us are just now catching the vision, you may be called to step out in the area of widows. I don’t think the church is failing to walk out this call because it doesn’t care, but rather because it doesn’t have the vision of how to do it right now. If you have a vision and heart for this, please share it! I’ll champion this issue with you! I would love to see the rest of this verse begin to happen, but I’m clueless where to start.

    Thank you for being courageous enough to ask the question. I truly believe you are hearing the heart of God in this area, and it’s time to get the word out!

    Reply

  18. Dorean Beattie
    Sep 25, 2010 @ 14:12:26

    Erica–Aw, thanks!

    Reply

  19. Kathy Eversole
    Sep 25, 2010 @ 14:43:35

    Hi Dorean,

    This is always been on my heart and I loved how you so beautifully put it into words! We often get asked the question, “why” and “can you not have kids of your own” and I love sharing our heart behind why we adopt! Thank you for sharing your heart and so clearly explaining the shift in adoption paradigm!

    I would love to share this on our blog if that’s ok??

    http://godsstoryofgrace.blogspot.com/

    I will definitely cite you and link to your blog as well!

    Thanks,
    Kathy

    Reply

  20. Julie
    Sep 25, 2010 @ 17:15:34

    Dorean you are right about the “I MUST”
    I don’t think saying no to any of this process was really ever an option for us.
    We remember to be still and know that God is God and He will get us through raising these precious little girls.
    PAP=Prospective Adoptive Parent=the term used when you don’t have government approval yet=impatiently waiting on paper work =)

    I would like to add my two sense on widows if I may.

    As a society, I do believe that widows are helped more than what we realize.
    There’s not a lot of “news worthy” stories of people helping the elderly in general (according to our distorted main stream media), but if we look at the bigger picture, there are several places and organizations to help the elderly (which are often widows) often staffed by volunteers.
    Meals on Wheels, free medical clinics, senior centers, cooling stations, energy programs, etc.
    There are no such organizations for orphans other than state run foster care programs in the United States.

    If I go and mow a widow’s grass, it’s not talked about (if it is, wouldn’t that be boasting? Going back to the pharisees and their desire to show others that they were doing good)
    but if I adopt, I really can’t keep that a secret to my friends and family….I guess we could for awhile, but eventually that cat will be out of the bag =)

    I think the whole idea of adoption is foreign to so many people.
    They would never think of adopting a child, but not give a second thought to helping woman who has lost her husband.

    Helping a widow is:
    1. easier-no long term commitment
    2. cheaper-you don’t need thousands of dollars to do it
    3. you don’t need the government to tell you that your fit to help a widow
    4. you get instant gratification (not always but usually)
    5. usually someone you already know and have a close relationship with

    My list could go on and on, but I think we all understand =)

    There are occasional stories that we hear on the news where no one helped a widow and they died as a result of it and I definitely think as a society we need to take care of not only the widows and elderly, but those less fortunate in general.

    One last thought to chew on for the day……If we look back at the roles God put in place for husbands and wives, did He mean that we were to care for widows like a husband would care for his wife?
    There are several verses, but the one that comes to mind is Ephesians 5:25-27
    Now I’m contemplating this myself!
    I don’t believe that is what He meant, however it is something I’m sure will be on my mind over the next few weeks

    Reply

  21. Dorean Beattie
    Sep 25, 2010 @ 21:26:43

    Julie–Thanks for clearing up PAP for me! I just couldn’t figure out what that extra “P” was for!

    I think you have some good points on the issue of “widows”. It is in fact easier to take care of widows’ needs than orphans’. As you said, it doesn’t take thousands of dollars to get started, and no one has to give you permission. That’s a big deal right there!

    I do think, though, that the church is going to have to step it up a little and be more intentional about it. Most of the things you mentioned are not done through the church, but through government or secular organizations. That’s a shame, because James 1:27 tells us to do it! Let me just say, though, that I’m guessing most who are involved in the adoption movement may not be involved in the “widow movement”, just as in any given church you have one group who feels the passion to work in the Sunday School, and another who feels passion to work in the mission department, or whatever. There isn’t one of us that can do it all; we are given passion by God for what He has called us to, and if we were all to follow His lead, the work would all get done: for the widow AND the orphan.

    To get a perspective on helping widows, it’s necessary to look at the plight of widows in scripture. A widow had no one to provide for her or take care of her, whether she was young or old. In that society, a woman needed a man. Plain and simple. This is the same reason many of the “orphan” verses actually say “fatherless”. While a mom was great, a dad was needed, because they were the ones that provided for the family. That’s why I said in a previous comment that we will have to redefine the term “widow”, just as we have had to more or less redefine “orphan”. I haven’t really worked out what walking out the widow section of James 1:27 looks like yet, but I know God meant for us to do that, just as much as He meant for us to take care of orphans. I guess this is one we’ll have to learn to walk out together!

    Reply

  22. Kizmogirl
    Sep 26, 2010 @ 00:45:50

    Great post!
    As an adoptive single parent of a sibling group (4) that were removed from their home due to abuse/neglect…
    I want those who read this to also know that as Christ followers, you don’t have to adopt, but there are ways to be supportive for those who do. It is a call to adopt. It is a mandate to care for orphans (& widows).
    What might you do to be supportive?
    Although fundraising is 1 form of support, there are thousands of ways you can fulfill this mandate ~ find one & shine!

    Reply

  23. Holly
    Oct 07, 2010 @ 20:52:14

    I would like to copy this entire post and link back to here. Beautiful and I have really enjoyed the comments as well.
    My sweet friends Adeye and Lorraine (with a whole lotta help from above) raised $20,000 in FIVE days for a precious special needs orphan in the Ukraine named Yulia. People gave and gave and gave. Nobody asked why they should help. It was obvious. This time the money was going straight to a fund for the child…parents had not (have not?) yet been identified. The purpose was to make it easier for the special family who is called to commit to Yulia knowing that most of the adoption fees have already been raised.
    If we could see our pitching in, buying fundraiser items, etc. as helping the CHILD instead of the parents, does that help our view and change our hearts?

    Thanks again.
    Until there are no more orphans…
    Holly

    Reply

  24. Dorean Beattie
    Oct 08, 2010 @ 14:39:12

    Holly–Feel free to repost! The more people who catch the vision the better!

    Reply

  25. radmama
    Oct 09, 2010 @ 16:07:57

    I guess I’m like Confused… having lots of questions about this very issue, but no real forum in which to ask them knowing that they would inevitably offend some. I too am reading a lot of adoption blogs now and am concerned that as this new movement (‘we step forward to adopt, if you’ll step forward to finance’) gains popularity, the number of dissolutions and disruptions also rises. I’m a little, well, put off when I see a fundraising ticker on a blog that also tells me about expenses–acquiring and caring for a new pet, taking vacation (even gas is expensive these days, especially with the large vehicles we adoptive families use), photography equipment, smart phones, etc.–that the family is covering.
    I understand that these families feel that they are called to adopt. But I would say that if you feel called then ‘you’ feel called, and that “faith without works is dead”, and that part of the ‘works’ should be making the sacrifices financially to make the adoption happen. Maybe that means you save for five-ten years to adopt one child, instead of one a year with funds from others. Maybe you read James a little more broadly as someone suggested and you step out of your comfort zone, walk into your nearest inner city ghetto and start an outreach program for single moms and there children (who in the time of James would have been considered orphans). Are you willing to babysit in a roach-infested project apartment at night so a single mom can go to a GED class? Are you willing to change your membership from your suburban megachurch to a storefront church on the front lines in the ghetto? Are you willing to adopt a teen sibling group from foster care (because large family exceptions are much more possible if you’re willing to take ‘the least of these’)? And most important, are you willing to pledge not to dissolve or disrupt, even if it means you have to visit your child in a locked facility for life?
    Thank you for the forum in which to ask these questions
    radmama–raising four from foster care; preparing (saving) to welcome the next four (or more) as private special needs adoptions ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  26. DadDonor
    Oct 09, 2010 @ 18:21:51

    When adoption is a redemptive act for a child in need, it is such a noble God-honoring long-run sacrifice that I cannot imagine gainsaying it, especially if the only criticism is that the family thus engaged is doing healthy family life things like caring for pets, or taking vacations. A family that rescues little ones from institutions, ministers to their overlooked health needs, and raises them in a Prov 22:6 delight in the Kingdom of God is not disqualified because they buy a cell phone.

    I would respect the judgment of anyone considering a donation to such a family about whether the family is being financially prudent. As a donor, I think there is a stewardship obligation to sow seed where the harvest will be God-honoring, not trampled in hedonism. Before condemning the activities of those engaged in ministry to the immediate need of orphans in life-or-death circumstances, who will be certainly lost if neglected for another five-to-ten years, I would really spend some time meditating on Matt 18:21, Jesus says:

    “See that you do not look down on one of these little ones. For I tell you that their angels in heaven always see the face of my Father in heaven. ” (NIV)

    I love to see families in passionate pursuit of God’s Kingdom fulfilling the great commission by making disciples from orphans. I wish every such family lived in a mansion and had Disneyland in their back yard. I would suggest there is more actual fruit in that sort of investment than in most of the gymnasiums built by churches.

    Reply

  27. Dorean Beattie
    Oct 09, 2010 @ 19:22:29

    Hi radmama, I hear what you’re saying. I realize there are apt to be people who go into adopting with a wrong heart, but I don’t feel that’s a reason to not help; instead it’s a good reason to pray about where to give and who to help. The families I am involved with that are part of the adoption movement are committed to doing as Christ has called them to do. That means some adopt, some help others adopt (financially or otherwise), and some adopt as well as being a resource for other adoptive families. To all of them, it means loving unconditionally (which means that disruption is not even an option).

    The idea of “save 5 or 10 years” sounds good, until you see it from the children’s perspective. I know some families that have adopted a total of five special needs children from eastern Europe. In this particular country special needs children that are not adopted by the age four are removed from the available list and placed in mental institutions, where they receive no education, physical therapy, or love. Had these families waited until they had saved enough money to pay for the adoptions themselves, one of the children would be dead (he was gravely ill when his family adopted him). Three others would now be living in mental institutions, where they would spend the rest of their lives. Instead, all five children are in loving homes, getting medical treatment, all the necessary therapies, and education. Not to mention love, love, and more love! These were five little lives that needed immediate help, and it took the Body of Christ pulling together and acting like the Body of Christ to make it happen.

    The Bible tells us that, just as our own bodies are made up of many parts, each with it’s own function, so is the Body of Christ. Some of us are called to adopt; some are called to fund adoptions. Some are called to set up outreaches to the inner city, some are called to help single moms, teach GED classes, parenting classes, and on and on. There truly are those in the Body who are called to give into adoption, and who pray daily to find the situations where they get to (yes, get to) help. So my advice to you would be to relax; it’s fine that you don’t feel called to help fund others’ adoptions, and it’s fine that some people do. It’s part of God’s plan.

    Reply

  28. Nicole
    Oct 10, 2010 @ 01:10:00

    AWESOME! We fundraised our last adoption because God called us back after just 2 months home with our previous adoption. GOD PROVIDED! I would like to repost this and link back to you! THANK YOU!
    ๐Ÿ™‚
    -Nicole

    Reply

  29. Kelly Raudenbush
    Oct 10, 2010 @ 02:05:32

    Love it — thanks for sharing this.
    Kelly

    Reply

  30. Trackback: A New Paradigm | Team Parker

Leave a Reply

